Capacity building for biosafety and ecological impact assessment of transgenic plants in East Africa

Steering committee


Aarhus University, Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, Dept. of IPM, Denmark

Dr. Gabor Lövei (Project leader).

Dr. Niels Holst (Scientific secretary).

Dr. Inge Fomsgaard.

Mr. Brian Møller (Financial co-ordinator).

Joy Owango (Communications Manager), East African Office: Gecaga Institute Bldg., Chiromo Campus, University of Nairobi.


University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Dr. Thure P. Hauser, Department of Agriculture and Ecology.

Dr. Flemming Ekelund, Department of Biology.


University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Dr. Flora Ismail, Department of Botany and Applied Microbiology.

Dr. Sylvester Leonard Lyantagaye, College of Natural and Applied Sciences, Department of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology.


University of Nairobi, School of Biological Sciences, Kenya

Prof. Jenesio Kinyamario (Project co-leader and university training co-ordinator);;

Dr. Nelson Onzere Amugune.;

Dr. Samuel Kiboi.;


Kenya Agricultural Research Institute

Dr. Ruth Amata, Biotechnology Centre

Dr. Muo Kasina, National Agricultural Research Laboratories, Kabete


Makerere University, Department of Crop Science, Uganda

Dr. Richard Edema (Research capacity co-ordinator).;

Dr. Jenipher Bisikwa.;;